Author Archives: dietwald

How to Fight Misleading GMO Labelling (in Canada)

Want to stop misleading GMO labelling in Canada? Here is how. Continue reading

Posted in Food, genetic modification, GMO | Tagged , , | 10 Comments

50% of Global Electricity from Wind? Not so fast.

One of the most puzzling studies on the viability of providing global electricity from primarily wind and solar is Mark Z. Jacobson‘s and Mark A. Delucchi’s 2011 paper “Providing all global energy with wind, water, and solar power, Part I: … Continue reading

Posted in Climate Change, Energy | Tagged , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

How much Wind vs Nuclear to Power the World in 2100?

Minimum Requirements to supply global electricity by 2100 Assumptions: Population: 15,000,000,000 kWh/capita/year: 7,000 Wind Assumed Installation cost: $1M/1MW Spacing: 6x diameter Necessary installed generation capacity: 11,986,301,370kW Assumed Replacement Factor (Gross Unit Wind for Gross Unit Conventional): 25 (4%) Replacement Factor … Continue reading

Posted in Energy, Energy Policy, Energy Policyi, Nuclear, Nuclear energy, Nuclear power, Wind power | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

Rob Saik on Pushing the Boundaries of Agriculture

Very good speech taking down the anti-GMO crowd.

Posted in Agriculture, Food | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

There’s DNA in Your Food!

In the tradition of Penn & Teller’s hilarious send-up of food activists signing a petition to ban water, the otherwise rather serious authors of the monthly Food Demand Survey sometimes try to have a little fun. While the bulk of … Continue reading

Posted in Food, Science, Weird Things | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Starbucks in China, or how reading the Atlantic can make you dumber

To say that I’m no expert on China is a grand understatement. To be honest, I have no clue about China at all, at least no more than your average white Canadian middle-class schmuck who thinks that nee-howing the hostess … Continue reading

Posted in China, Economy, Starbucks | Tagged , , , | 3 Comments

How much Electricity does Solar Power generate?

I’ve spent quite some time and effort on calculating the space requirements of wind power installations during my time at the Canadian Nuclear Association. The fruits of my labor can be found on pages 13 and 24 of the Canadian … Continue reading

Posted in Energy, Solar Power | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment